Skip to content ↓

Year 11 Information

Welcome to the information page for Year 11 students and parents.

We hope the information below will help you and your child in this most important year.

Please click on the links below.

Year 11 Team

Role Name Email
Raising Standards Leader (Academic Progress) Stephen Reid sreid@ketteringscienceacademy.org
Head of Year (Pastoral/Personal/Behaviour) William Baines wbaines@ketteringscienceacademy.org
Senior Student Support Officer Nicola Heighton nheighton@ketteringscienceacademy.org
Safeguarding Lead Deborah Stevens dstevens@ketteringscienceacademy.org
Vice Principal for KS4 Progress Pete Davies pdavies1@ketteringscienceacademy.org

Year 11 Form Tutors

Form Group Form Tutor Email
11JDY  Joe Dyer jdyer@ketteringscienceacademy.org
11ACR Andrew Crowley acrowley@ketteringscienceacademy.org
11JMD Julia Mallard jmallard@ketteringscienceacademy.org
11GHO Grace Horne ghorne@ketteringscienceacademy.org
11MPA Meleesha Perera mperera@ketteringscienceacademy.org
11NFR Natasha Franklin nfranklin@ketteringscienceacademy.org
11NLA Nicola Heighton nheighton@ketteringscienceacademy.org
11GDE Gillian Denis gdenis@ketteringscienceacademy.org

 

Subject Leaders

Subject Subject Leader Email
Art Zoe Moore zmoore@ketteringscienceacademy.org
Business Studies Daniel Duncan dduncan@ketteringscienceacademy.org
Computer Science Daniel Duncan dduncan@ketteringscienceacademy.org
Construction Zoe Moore zmoore@ketteringscienceacademy.org
Drama Julia Mallard jmallard@ketteringscienceacademy.org
English Joanne Evans jevans@ketteringscienceacademy.org
Enterprise Daniel Duncan dduncan@ketteringscienceacademy.org
Hospitality and Catering Zoe Moore zmoore@ketteringscienceacademy.org
French Rosemary Reid rreid@ketteringscienceacademy.org
Geography Natasha Franklin nfranklin@ketteringscienceacademy.org
German Rosemary Reid rreid@ketteringscienceacademy.org
Health and Social Care Lee Haywood lhaywood@ketteringscienceacademy.org
History Natasha Franklin nfranklin@ketteringscienceacademy.org
ICT Daniel Duncan dduncan@ketteringscienceacademy.org
Maths Grace Horne ghorne@ketteringscienceacademy.org
Media Studies Joanne Evans jevans@ketteringscienceacademy.org
Music Julia Mallard jmallard@ketteringscienceacademy.org
Photography Zoe Moore zmoore@ketteringscienceacademy.org
Physical Education (PE) Lee Haywood lhaywood@ketteringscienceacademy.org
Science Gavin Stanger gstanger@ketteringscienceacademy.org

 

Date Event/Report
26th October – 3rd November 2019 Holiday
4th November 2019 First progress report (PC1)
14th – 25th November 2019 Formal practice examinations (mocks)
18th December 2019

Second progress report (PC2)

Mock results day
21st December 2019  – 5th January 2020

Holiday

9th January 2020 Year 11 parents evening
15th – 23rd February 2020 Holiday                (Booster sessions offered)
24th February – 5th March 2020 Formal practice examinations (mocks)
30th March 2020

Third progress report (PC3)

Mock results day
3rd  – 19th April 2020 Holiday                (Booster sessions offered)
27th April – 7th May 2020 Language speaking and art examinations
11th -22nd  May 2020 Formal examinations
23rd  - 31st May 2020 Holiday                (Booster sessions offered)
1st – 23rd June 2020 Formal examinations
20th August 2020 Results day

Coursework Deadlines

Subject Coursework Unit Deadline
Media NEA3 Coursework 23rd September 2019
Construction Unit 5 A & B 11th  October 2019
Sports Studies Sport and the Media Coursework 1st November 2019
Photography Unit 1a: Inside, Outside & Looking Through 4th November 2019
Construction Unit 2 A 6th December 2019
ICT R013 Coursework 13th December 2019
Enterprise Units 1 and 3 Coursework 13th December 2019
Drama Coursework 20th December 2019
Art Unit 1a: Identity/Face to Face 8th January 2020
Art Unit 1b: Truth, Fantasy & Fiction 8th January 2020
Photography Unit 1b: Truth, Fantasy & Fiction 8th January 2020
Music Unit 2 Managing a Music Composition 17th January 2020
Construction Unit 2 B 31st January 2020
Construction Unit 3 A & B 27th March 2020
Enterprise Unit 4 Coursework 30th March 2020
Music Introducing Music Performance 20th April 2020
Construction Unit 3 C 15th May 2020
Music Unit 4 Introducing a Music Composition 1st June 2020

Booster session information (Term 1)

Day Subject
Tuesday Business studies booster
Tuesday English Literature lecture
Tuesday English supported study
Wednesday Science booster
Thursday Photography booster
Thursday Art booster
Thursday History booster
Thursday Geography booster
Thursday Maths booster
Friday French booster
Friday German booster

n this section you will find ideas of things students can do to help learning at home including details of websites our teachers recommend.

Click here to download the booklet with revision/self-study ideas and details of websites

 

Subject Title ISBN RRP Publisher
Business Studies OCR 9-1 GCSE Business Target 9-5 9781999632113 £9.50 A-Z Training
Computer Science GCSE Computer Science OCR Revision Guide 9781782946021 £5.95 CGP
Drama Grade 9-1 GCSE Drama Play Guide - DNA 9781782949633 £5.95 CGP
Drama Grade 9-1 GCSE Drama Revision Guide 9781782949626 £5.95 CGP
English Grade 9-1 GCSE English Shakespeare Text Guide - Macbeth 9781841461168 £5.95 CGP
English Grade 9-1 GCSE English Text Guide - An Inspector Calls 9781841461151 £5.95 CGP
English Grade 9-1 GCSE English Text Guide - A Christmas Carol 9781782943099 £5.95 CGP
English Grade 9-1 GCSE English Text Guide - Blood Brothers 9781782943112 £5.95 CGP
English Grade 9-1 GCSE English Text Guide - Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde 9781782943082 £5.95 CGP
English Grade 9-1 GCSE English Text Guide - Lord of the Flies 9781847620224 £5.95 CGP
English GCSE English Literature AQA Poetry Guide: Power & Conflict Anthology 9781782943617 £5.95 CGP
French Revise Edexcel GCSE (9-1) French Revision Guide 9781292132082 £5.99 Pearson
French Revise Edexcel GCSE (9-1) French Revision Workbook 9781292132013 £5.99 Pearson
Geography GCSE (9-1) Geography AQA Revision Guide 9780198423461 £7.50 OUP
German Revise Edexcel GCSE (9-1) German Revision Guide 9781292132099 £5.99 Pearson
German Revise Edexcel GCSE (9-1) German Revision Workbook 9781292132044 £5.99 Pearson
Health and Social Care BTEC National Health and Social Care Revision Guide 9781292245614 £5.99 Pearson
History Revise AQA GCSE (9-1) History Britain: Health and the people, c1000 to the present day Revision Guide and Workbook 9781292204789 £5.99 Pearson
History Revise AQA GCSE (9-1) History Conflict and tension between East and West, 1945-1972 Revision Guide and Workbook 9781292242989 £5.99 Pearson
History Revise AQA GCSE (9-1) History Elizabethan England, c1568-1603 Revision Guide and Workbook 9781292204802 £5.99 Pearson
History Revise AQA GCSE (9-1) History Germany 1890-1945: Democracy and dictatorship Revision Guide and Workbook 9781292204765 £5.99 Pearson
Hospitality and Catering My Revision Notes: WJEC Level 1/2 Vocational Award in Hospitality and Catering 9781510473331 £9.99 Hodder Educ
Maths Revise Edexcel GCSE (9-1) Mathematics Foundation Revision Guide 9781447988045 £5.99 Pearson
Maths Revise Edexcel GCSE (9-1) Mathematics Foundation Workbook 9781447987925 £5.99 Pearson
Maths Revise Edexcel GCSE (9-1) Mathematics Higher Revision Guide 9781447988090 £5.99 Pearson
Maths Revise Edexcel GCSE (9-1) Mathematics Higher Workbook 9781292210889 £5.99 Pearson
Science (Combined) Revise Edexcel GCSE (9-1) Combined Science Foundation Revision Guide 9781292131597 £9.99 Pearson
Science (Combined) Revise Edexcel GCSE (9-1) Combined Science Higher Revision Guide 9781292131634 £9.99 Pearson
Science (Triple) Revise Edexcel GCSE (9-1) Biology Foundation Revision Guide 9781292131740 £5.99 Pearson
Science (Triple) Revise Edexcel GCSE (9-1) Biology Higher Revision Guide 9781292131719 £5.99 Pearson
Science (Triple) Revise Edexcel GCSE (9-1) Chemistry Foundation Revision Guide 9781292131894 £5.99 Pearson
Science (Triple) Revise Edexcel GCSE (9-1) Chemistry Higher Revision Guide 9781292131283 £5.99 Pearson
Science (Triple) Revise Edexcel GCSE (9-1) Physics Foundation Revision Guide 9781292133690 £5.99 Pearson
Science (Triple) Revise Edexcel GCSE (9-1) Physics Higher Revision Guide 9781292133706 £5.99 Pearson

Letters and parental bulletins relevant to all Year 11 students will be saved here.

The parent information pamphlets below have been published by PiXL (an organisation which aims to raise achievement and aspirations).  The pamphlets contain useful information about learning techniques, keeping healthy and how parents can help.

 

Click on the title to download the pamphlet.

 

Apprenticeships                  

Aspirations                           

Building resilience

Encouraging independence

Handling exam pressure

Getting your child into good habits

Hobbies and opportunities

Encourage productive learning

Develop reading and vocabulary

Support re-visiting learning

Mental health

Positive relations

Relaxation

Screen time

Self-care for teenagers

Sleep

Social media

Interleaving technique to help revision