Skip to content ↓

Religious Studies


Gives the students a chance to connect their real world experience with the big questions of today. As they move through the curriculum they learn about religious and worldviews and approaches that are different to their own. This is powerful knowledge as it helps them to formulate their own views and to understand why some people do what they do because of their beliefs, whether religious or not.

Literacy skills are embedded within the RE curriculum, the use of tier three language is modelled by staff and students and an integral part of RE lessons.  Students are given opportunities to develop their reading as well as extended writing. RE also develops students’ oracy skills as it allows them to discuss what they are learning and to voice their own opinions.


The study of RE helps students to reflect on and develop their own ideas, beliefs and principles in the context of ideas that may have commonality or difference to their own. The curriculum encourages them to be considerate of other’s opinions and beliefs. Pupils will be able to make sense of moral, social, ethical, religious and worldviews around them and begin to understand the complex world in which they live.


RE is about enabling pupils to become free thinking, critical participants of public discourse, who can make academically informed judgements about important moral, social, ethical and religion and belief issues which shape the global landscape.

Topics taught are as follows;

Year 7

What is Belief?



Year 8

Prejudice and Discrimination



Year 9


Medical Ethics


KS4 – AQA Specification

  • Christianity and Buddhism
  • Themes - Relationships and Families; Life Issues; Peace and Conflict; Crime and Punishment; Human Rights and Social Justice

KS5 – OCR Specification

  • Philosophy
  • Ethics
  • Christian Thought

For more detailed information of the core content covered in this subject for each year group, please access the Knowledge Organisers here:

Key Stage 3 (Years 7, 8 and 9) 
Key Stage 4 (Years 10 and 11)